Festival TV



MONTE-CARLO, 12th June 2016 – The 56th Monte-Carlo Television Festival was officially opened at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco this evening by HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco, the Festival's Honorary President, and HSH Princess Charlene. Presidents and members of the 2016 Golden Nymph juries were introduced on stage followed by the presentation by HSH Prince Albert II of the highly coveted Crystal Nymph, which was awarded to leading actress Marg Helgenberger in recognition of her stellar body of work.

Helgenberger starred as CSI analyst Catherine Willows in CSI: Crime Scene Investigation for twelve seasons, winning two Primetime Emmy and two Golden Globe nominations, alongside acting credits spanning some of television's most renowned series - from her breakout Emmy Award winning role as K.C. on China Beach, to CBS series Intelligence, and, most recently, Under the Dome.

Golden Nymph Jury Presidents introduced this year include Hollywood actor, producer and humanitarian Danny Glover (News Jury) and renowned actor, director and producer Jason Priestley (Fiction Jury).

The 56th Opening Ceremony is followed by the Special Screening of the first episode of Dick Wolf's hit US drama series Chicago Med, the third instalment in the acclaimed Chicago brand. Leading stars from the drama, Torrey DeVitto, Colin Donnell and Brian Tee, alongside Executive Producer Dick Wolf, joined a host of acting and production talent from around the world on the Red Carpet at the start of the Festival. See full list of Red Carpet arrivals below (*).

Laurent Puons, CEO, said "We are very pleased to welcome a host of television's most renowned production and acting talent to the Grimaldi Forum tonight as we launch our 56th edition. Over the next four days the Monte-Carlo Television Festival will present a truly global celebration of the best in programming and the talent that brings it to our screens - including the launch of the inaugural ConTech Academy, as well as our prestigious juries selecting this year's Golden Nymph honourees from an exceptional and diverse line-up of international content".

The Monte-Carlo Television Festival attracts a wide range of acting, production and writing talent from around the world who travel to Monte-Carlo for the four-day celebration of programming including many nominated for the Golden Nymph Awards which are presented later this week at the close of the Festival. See below for a full list of Jury Members (**).

*Monte-Carlo Television Festival 2016 Opening Ceremony Red Carpet Attendees

The following actors and actresses were among the many luminaries to walk the Red Carpet at the Opening of the 56th Monte-Carlo Television Festival:

Alongside Jason Priestley, Danny Glover and Marg Helgenberger, also in attendance were Gethin Anthony, Aquarius; Alana De La Garza, Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders; Torrey DeVitto, Colin Donnell, Brian Tee and Executive Producer Dick Wolf, Chicago Med; Darin Brooks, Scott Clifton, Jacqueline MacInnes Wood, John McCook and Rena Sofer, The Bold and the Beautiful; Jack Falahee, How to Get Away With Murder; Victor Garber, DC's Legends of Tomorrow; Thomas Gibson, Criminal Minds; Martin Henderson and Kevin McKidd, Grey's Anatomy; Thomas Lennon, The Odd Couple and Stella Maeve and Jason Ralph, The Magicians.

Further attendees included Catherine Marchal, Section Zéro; Matthew Modine, Stranger Things; Danielle Panabaker and Candice Patton, The Flash; Sean Pertwee, Cory Michael Smith and Robin Lord Taylor, Gotham; Sullivan Stapleton, Blindspot; Nobel Peace Prize winner Rigoberta Menchu for Peacejam and a range of actors from leading French programming including Sonia Rolland, Caïn; Jean Luc Reichmann, Les Douze Coups de Midi / Leo Matteï; Alexandre Brasseur and Michael Abiteboul, Le Bureau des Légendes; Alessandra Sublet, Action ou Vérité; Marilou Berry, Accusé; Noemie Elbaz, Camping Paradis; the cast of the TV series Nina and Cassandre and Françoise Laborde.

**Monte-Carlo Television Festival 2016 Jury Members

News Jury

Président du Jury:
Danny Glover, Hollywood actor, producer and humanitarian

Jury members:

  • Rosa María Calaf, journalist, news anchor & correspondent
  • Yasmina Farber (Les Enfants du Seigneur), journalist and award-winning director
  • Nils Hanson, renowned investigative journalist and editor of SVT's internationally successful Mission Investigate
  • Daisuke Koyama (Back from the Brink: Inside the Chilean Mine Disaster), senior producer at NHK Japan and International Emmy award winner
  • Françoise Laborde, journalist, writer and presenter, president of charity PFDM (Pour les Femmes dans les Médias), vice-president of Refuge, and knight of both the Legion of Honour and France's National Order of Merit.

Fiction Jury

Jason Priestley, renowned actor, director and producer

Jury members:

  • Rola Bauer, Golden Globe and two-time Emmy nominated producer, CEO/Producer at Tandem Productions and STUDIOCANAL executive
  • Stepfanie Kramer (Hunter), renowned film and television actress
  • Gareth Neame (Downton Abbey, The Last Kingdom), multi-award-winning drama producer and Carnival Films' CEO
  • Aurélien Recoing (Blue is the Warmest Colour, Trepalium), acclaimed theatre, film and television actor
  • Hiroyuki Sanada (Helix, The Wolverine), one of Japan's most highly regarded film and television actors

To obtain official photography from the Monte-Carlo Television Festival Opening Ceremony, please contact a Festival accredited photo agency. Details here: http://www.tvfestival.com/press-photos-agencies.

About The Monte-Carlo Television Festival
Originally created by Prince Rainier III of Monaco, and now under the Honorary Presidency of Prince Albert II of Monaco, The Monte-Carlo Television Festival has, for more than half a century, presented the very best of television from around the world. The Festival has also been at the forefront in showcasing the highly talented professionals associated with many of the most successful programs in the history of the medium.

With an international overview, the Festival is considered a must attend annual event in the global content diary. Celebrities, producers, directors, writers and heads of studios, networks and digital platforms gather in June every year to attend series launches, premier screenings, conferences, master classes, industry workshops, interactive and immersive demo experiences, press activities, public events, VIP meetings and signing sessions.

Culminating with a unique competition, which celebrates and honours fiction, news and current affairs programming with the prestigious Golden Nymph Awards, The Monte-Carlo Television Festival has been recognized as one of the finest Festivals in the world, enhanced even further by its location in the magical Principality of Monaco.


Contact: Press Office

pinterest facebook flickr instagram youtube twitter

If you are unable to read this page, click here
If you no longer wish to receive this information, click on unsubscribe.
Your request will be handled as soon as possible. © Monaco Mediax
This message was sent to [Adresse email]

twitter instagram facebook